Funion Family Cookbook

The Funion Family Cookbook

What a Wonderful World CookbookWhat a Wonderful World
Cookbook

This stunning cookbook is filled with delicious Vegetarian recipes, many of which are gluten-free! Order it today!

Types of Vegetarians

The most common types of vegetarians, from least to most restrictive, are:


Semi-vegetarian

Dietary restrictions: Someone who is a "semi-vegetarian" does not eat red or white meat (beef, pork, venison, etc).
Animal products allowed: Limited consumption of fowl and fish, although they usually eat by-products of red meat, like fats, oils, gelatin etc. and wear clothes from animals.
Philosophy: Semi-vegetarians choose to reduce their reliance on meat as a primary source of protein for two reasons. The first is a desire to reduce their environmental footprint associated with meat production, and the second is for health reasons.


Lacto-ovo vegetarian

In the western world, lacto-ovo vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian. Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian, a lacto-ovo vegetarian is assumed.
Dietary restrictions: This diet excludes all meat, including beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind.
Animal products allowed: Dairy products and eggs.
Philosophy: Lacto-ovo vegetarians who are motivated by ethical reasons may avoid fertilized eggs as well as caviar; both involve the killing of beings or torture and exploitation of source animals.


Lacto vegetarian

"Lacto" originates from the Latin word for milk.
Dietary restrictions: Excludes animal products including meat and eggs. Lacto vegetarians abstain from eggs, which are seen as a heavy food, hurting spiritual progress. Cheeses containing animal rennet and yogurts containing gelatine are also avoided.
Animal products allowed: Dairy products.
Philosophy: This diet is practiced by peoples of ancient wisdom, followers of the world’s great religions, including Hinduism and Buddhism.


Ovo vegetarian

Dietary restrictions: No meat or dairy products.
Animal products allowed: Eggs.
Philosophy: Ovo vegetarianism is based on ethics. Cows must have calves before giving milk; eating dairy products thereby supports the meat industry through increasing the population of animals that cannot be sustained for any other purpose. In contrast, hens can lay unfertilized eggs, and ovo-vegetarians generally prefer free-range eggs produced by uncaged hens. Furthermore, lower carbon emissions are associated with keeping hens versus cattle.


Vegans

Dietary restrictions: Veganism is a lifestyle that seeks to exclude the use of animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose. Not only do vegans avoid all animal products in their diet, such as meats, dairy products, and eggs, they do not use or consume animal products of any kind.
Animal products allowed: None.
Philosophy: "Veganism" is a philosophy, a way of living that seeks to exclude — as far as is possible and practical — all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose. By extension, veganism promotes the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of humans, animals and the environment.
The most common reasons for becoming a vegan are human health, ethics concerning animal rights or welfare, the environment, and spiritual or religious concerns. Properly planned vegan diets are healthful, satisfy nutritional needs, and offer protection against heart disease, cancer, and other diseases.


Now that you know some of the options, which vegetarian diet resonates with you?